Conservative Index Add

Saturday, April 20th, 2019Last Update: Thursday, January 31st, 2019 08:02:19 PM

(Letter to the Editor)

By: Constitution Staff

State Judicial Misconduct

Much has been said and written, in many locations, about the "judicial activism" that has been repeatedly exhibited by the judges on the Federal benches, and with much justification. Now we have seen just such a blatant example of the same conduct by a majority of judges sitting on the Oklahoma Supreme Court. This was in the decision by a 7 - 2 majority to rule that a monument listing the "10 Commandments" could not remain on the grounds of the State Capitol. The "reasoning" stated was a provision in the State Constitution which is quoted as prohibiting the use of "public money" on a religious supporting purpose on State property. This was despite the truth that the monument was entirely paid for by one family, the head of which happens to be my State Representative, as well as a personal physician and flight surgeon. The original monument was destroyed by a deranged "anti-Christian' with a vehicle and replaced with a duplicate, again paid for by the family.

However, it has occurred to me that at least part of the fault must lie with the statutory system in place for choosing the judges. In my opinion, it is totally incestuous in that when there is a vacancy, five judge candidates are nominated by a committee made up of members of the Oklahoma Bar Association. The Governor then is required to nominate from those candidates. It seems to me that a more fair and proper committee make-up would be one or two members from the Bar, one named by each of the Legislature houses, and one by the chair of each of the political parties recognized by the state Election Board. This would give the PEOPLE more of an input in the matter.

Here are the judges and how they voted on the monument case

(the appointing Governor and appointment year are shown):

Yvonne Kauger 9 (George Nigh: 1984) Voted against Ten Commandments.

Joseph Watt (David Walters: 1992) Voted against Ten Commandments.

James Winchester (Frank Keating: 2000) Voted against Ten Commandments

James Edmondson (Brad Henry 2003) Voted against Ten Commandments

Steven Taylor (Brad Henry 2004) Voted against Ten Commandments

Tom Colbert (Brad Henry 2004) Dissented (for Ten Commandments)

John Reif (Brad Henry: 2007) Voted against Ten Commandments

Noma Gurich (Brad Henry 2010) Voted against Ten Commandments

Doug Combs (Brad Henry 2010) Dissented (for Ten Commandments)

Subsequent news stories indicated that talk had begun among Legislators about the possibility of mounting an impeachment challenge over this as a violation of their oath of office. However, it does not seem to be gaining as no more has been seen or heard. It is my opinion that this would be unwise, unless the votes were ASSURED in both houses to bring such charges to a successful conclusion. A failed attempt would, I fear, only serve to embolden those judges to further "legislate from the bench" and render even more, and worse, miscarriage of justice decisions.

Three of these justices faced retention votes in 2014: Douglas L. Combs, Steven. Taylor, and James Winchester. Based on this decision, a NO vote for Taylor and Winchester would be recommended. Unfortunately for Oklahoma citizens, there has yet to be an appointed judge not retained by vote. Last year a campaign was mounted to NOT retain Civil Appeals Judge Jane Wiseman, which drew the highest NO vote in history.

Robert W. McDowell, Jr.

Broken Arrow, OK

Other Stories From Fall 2015 Issue

The Boren Identity: Surprised by Someone I Completely Disagree

Andrew K. Boyle
It is easy to complain about government. Our system of self government is well suited for the cranky...

The Federal Page (Fall 2015)

Theodore King
Planned ParenthoodIn March 2012, pro-life activist and founder of Operation Rescue, Randall Terr...

Did the Grinch Steal the Monument?

Richard Engle
On September 11, 2015 an Oklahoma County District Court ordered that the Ten Commandments monument...

Stopping President Obamas Federally Funded Curriculum and the Expansion of Government Control

Linda Murphy
President Obama said, If you like your school with local control you can keep your school with...

Oklahoma Personal Asset Protection Act SB 838

Kaye Beach
State Senator Kyle Loveless (R-Oklahoma City) is the author of Senate Bill 838, the Personal Asset...

Four of a Kind

Steve Byas
President Calvin Coolidge once said, It is better to kill a bad bill, than to pass a good one....

Growing a Backbone

John Michener
The human backbone begins developing during the first few weeks of an embryos existence in the...

The Senate Transparency Conundrum

Jason Murphey
Regular readers of the states appropriations bill were greeted by something new as they opened...

Thomas Sowell Interview

Brandon Dutcher
In an excellent interview which recently appeared in The Wall Street Journal, the economist Thomas...

Tidbits for Fall 2015

Constitution Staff
Jari Askins Takes New PostGovernor Mary Fallin announced September 18 that Jari Askins, speci...

(Letter to the Editor)

Constitution Staff
State Judicial MisconductMuch has been said and written, in many locations, about the judicia...

Special Elections for Vacancies in Legislature

Constitution Staff
One vacant legislative seat was recently filled and candidates have filed for the special election...

Cathy Costello Highlights 2015 Defenders of Liberty Awards

Constitution Staff
Cathy Costello, widow of the late Labor Commissioner Mark Costello, accepted the Samuel Adams...

Gerhart Conviction Overturned

Constitution Staff
A couple of years ago, Oklahoma Constitution editor Steve Byas wrote in his column, concerning the...

Pam Pollard Elected Republican State Chairman

Constitution Staff
Pam Pollard Elected Republican State Chairman...

In The News

Constitution Staff

Voters Reject Four of Five State Questions
Six statewide ballot measures were certified for the 2018 elections in Oklahoma. One measure, the...

Constitution Staff

All Judges Survive Retention Ballot
On November 6, Oklahoma voters retained four Supreme Court justices, three Court of Criminal Appeals...

Constitution Staff

Democrats Flip Oklahoma Congressional Seat
The big news coming out of the Oklahoma congressional elections was the flipping of the Fifth...

Constitution Staff

Republicans Sweep Statewide Secondary Offices
In addition to the governors office, a host of secondary statewide offices, and one seat for the...

Constitution Staff

Governor Kevin Stitt
On January 14, J. Kevin Stitt was inaugurated as the 28th governor of the State of Oklahoma. He...

Constitution Columnists

David Deming

A Tale of Two Professors
In the Fall 2018 issue of the Oklahoma Constitution, I related the persecution of OU law professor...

Jason Murphey

Stopping the Revolving Door
It was quite the surreal moment in the Oklahoma House of Representatives! As the 2018 legislative...

Julie Wilkinson

How I Got In. How I Left.
Back in 1984, left a dysfunctional relationship with my boyfriend in Florida, and decided to move...

© 2001 - 2009 The Oklahoma Constitution, all rights reserved.
Contact the Oklahoma Constitution by calling 405-366-1125 or emailing
Content Management System (CMS) provided by WebTeks CMS.